





OFFICE OF THE MAYOR

JAMES E. MAYO MAYOR

November, 2008

318-329-2310 POST OFFICE BOX 123 MONROE, LOUISIANA 71210

Dear Citizens of Monroe,

It is with great pride that I, along with the City Council and the Planning Commission, present the City of Monroe One City, One Future Comprehensive Plan.

This comprehensive plan is the first in 20 years for Monroe. In addition to serving as our land use plan for the next 20 years, the Comprehensive Plan highlights our resources and development opportunities. These include jobs, economic vitality and revitalization, educational opportunity, safety and security, preservation of Monroe's unique character and its rivers and bayous.

The comprehensive plan is a living and breathing document which represents the future of Monroe. Through its goals, objectives and policies, the plan will serve as our roadmap. The comprehensive plan recommends specific actions and projects; but, more importantly, it gives the community a standard measuring tool to help evaluate proposals and plans for development. This allows a project to be retrofitted to fit our plan. If a certain element of the plan becomes outdated, it can be updated to fit the changing vision of our city's future.

Having an updated comprehensive plan is critical to Monroe's future success. We are excited about this progressive step in our development and we hope our residents and taxpayers are as well.

I, on behalf of the City Council, wish to extend our thanks to peter j. smith & company, inc., the Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee, the Planning Commission, staff and the many citizens that participated in preparing this plan.

Sincerely,

James E. Mayo

Mayor

One City, One Future The Monroe Comprehensive Plan ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

Hon. Jamie Mayo, Mayor

City Council

Robert (Red) Stevens, Chairman

Arthur Gilmore, Jr. Ben Katz Robert Johnson Jay Marx

Planning Commission

Tommy Chatham, Chairman

John Smith, First Vice Chair Hunt Neely, Second Vice Chair

Ed French Berna Dean Jones

Ellen Hill Mike Riley
Marcus Hunter Tommy Usrey

Steering Committee

Robert Clark
Jim Cofer
James Dupree
Janet Durden
Sue Edmunds
Gretchen Ezernack
Cedric Hemphill
Ellen Hill
Brenda Johnson

Jay Marx
Anthony Nelson
Robert Powell
Charles Pritchard
Ryan Roark
John Ross
John Schween
Gladys Smith
Kathy Spurlock

Paul Stephenson (Robert) Red Stevens Gene Tarver Frank Wilcox

Richard Hood Joseph McGahan Glenda Smith Starr Bobby Williams

Staff

Tom Atteberry Kim Golden Joanne C. Poret, AICP Rod Washington

Consultant

peter j. smith & company, inc. design based planning Buffalo, NY & Fort Erie, ON

November 2008

One City, One Future! City of Monroe Comprehensive Plan Vision Statement

The City of Monroe is united by its bold and exciting prospects and engaged by the opportunity to build a globally competitive community.

We will continue to retain and attract social, intellectual and community resources to initiate, improve and complete projects which will advance Monroe, Northeast Louisiana and our region in the 21st century.

Goals

Goal #1: Monroe will foster an atmosphere of inclusivity and spirit of cooperation and collaboration among residents and government.

Goal #2: Advancement and achievement by the City's residents will be encouraged in every possible way.

Goal #3: The City of Monroe is unique and it will use the legacy of its forbears and its position as a regional hub to build a strong foundation for the future.

Goal #4: The City of Monroe will be safe and secure for residents and visitors.

Goal #5: Water is a defining feature of the City. The City's waterways will be restored as a source of pride, vitality and enjoyment for the City's residents and visitors.